How to setup AWS S3 as storage in Ghost Website

Yasiru Nilan
4 min readAug 4, 2022

Recently I had a requirement to create a blog and I was looking for different options. WordPress was the main one that I was looking for due to the flexibility and the configurability to meet user requirements.

I am not familiar with WordPress development and I’m new to it. When exploring the options I felt that I have to do so much to get a nice little website with a good look and feel up and running. I hate it. But luckily Shalitha Vikum mentioned to me about Ghost and how easy it is to handle.

Then I had a quick search about Ghost. Their website was really eye-catching and it looked really nice with all the UI/UX matters. Then I tried downloading the docker image of Ghost and tried setting up a sample web app. Wow, it was really nice. Maybe using WordPress we can do much more beautiful themes than Ghost. But I think we have to do more to get there in my opinion. Correct me if I’m wrong.

Then I thought to set up the thing in the cloud. I used AWS Lightsail to set up a Ghost instance. The latest available Ghost version at the time was 5. x and the version available in Lightsail was 4. x. So after creating the instance I had to upgrade the Ghost version as well.

Then after setting the thing up I created a sample post and published it to see how it appears. But I had a bad experience…

--

--

Yasiru Nilan

Passionate Lover of New Tech ❤ Associate Tech Lead @ Ideabits ❤ Blogger who writes about his adventures around the world(https://www.sunkisseddiaries.com/about)